We All Have to Start Somewhere…

Even though he’d never been on skates before, he began his first morning of hockey with dreams of being the next Sydney Crosby.  It wasn’t easy, and when he dropped his stick and fell for the eighth time in five minutes, things weren’t looking good – that’s when I caught this picture.  Not too much later, though, the coach brought “walkers” to help the new skaters balance, and by the time an hour was done, he was better than me.  I’m glad I got this moment to remember, though.  Down the road, when he’s skating circles around me, it’ll remind him that we all have to start somewhere.

This photo was entered into the I Heart Faces photo challenge – www.iheartfaces.com

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Very Cute! They do start the sports young, don’t they? 🙂

    Reply
  2. cute! great capture he’ll enjoy looking back on one day. 🙂

    Reply
  3. I love it! My 5-yr old son just started hockey, too.

    Reply
  4. Love this so much! Great shot:)

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Twitter Updates

  • Follow Julie McDowell Photography on WordPress.com