It’s All in the Eyebrows

tough guy_1

Each of our boys express themselves differently.  Our oldest expresses himself with words.  He’s been a talker from early on and hasn’t stopped for breath since then.  Our middle son expresses himself – well – with his fists.  When he can’t combat big brother’s barbed words with comebacks of his own, the fists fly.  My husband and I joke that someday, our oldest will get himself into trouble with his words and our middle son will get his big brother out of trouble using his fists.

But our youngest?  He’s different again.  He’s always been incredibly expressive…with his eyebrows.  It’s true.  From the time he could show that he understood what we were saying, he could use an eyebrow to say things from, “Really?  Wow!” to “I have no use for you right now.”  And so, when I Heart Faces named their contest this month, “Best Face of 2012” this picture immediately came to mind.  To begin with, it’s definitely one of my favorite faces in the whole world, but, more than that, there’s so much expression wrapped up in that little mug – in one eyebrow alone, in fact.  I just happened to get the right expression and the right second and I captured his look that either says, “Go ahead.  Make my day” or “Look at me, ladeez – I’m very hard to rezeest.” Either way, this candid shot is one of my favs from last year.

I-Heart-Faces-button

This photo was entered into the I Heart Faces photo challenge – www.iheartfaces.com

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Dana

     /  January 8, 2013

    I LOVE IT!! What a SWEETHEART! I am cracking up over those eyebrows! LOL

    Reply
  2. I think those eyebrows DO tell a story : ) I laughed out loud about your fist fighting expresser! Hilarious!

    Reply
  3. Reminds me of one of my own. Very expressive!

    Reply
  4. cyndi

     /  January 10, 2013

    Again….wonderful expressions in photos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Twitter Updates

  • Follow Julie McDowell Photography on WordPress.com
