My Little Knight in Shining Armor

web young knight

Rock the Shot Forum is having a “Favorite Shot of 2012” photo challenge.  In the case of most photographers, the challenge there is to pick one favorite shot out of the hundreds (thousands?) that one takes every year.  I have so many pictures that I could choose – sleeping babies, laughing kids, gorgeous grads – but I chose this one.  The picture itself was part of a project that I’m working on that I call “The Storybook Project”.  It’s a group of sessions with kids dressed up like they could be in a bedtime story.  You can find the original knight and princess post here.

This picture was a result of both chance and planning, if that makes sense.  Normally, as I set up my equipment, I let the kids I’m photographing just have fun and pose as I test my settings.  This picture of my boy was caught during that point in the session.  He was just playing around and trying for all he was worth to look brave, and I snapped the picture and caught it. I’m so glad I did.  He’s my fearless, compassionate boy – a perfect little knight.

https://i2.wp.com/www.rocktheshotforum.com/wp-content/Banners/banner_125px.jpg

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. cyndi

     /  January 10, 2013

    An absolutely perfect choice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Twitter Updates

  • Follow Julie McDowell Photography on WordPress.com
