All About the Boys | Halifax Nova Scotia Children’s Photographer

My husband calls me the Mac of photographers.  This isn’t because I’m so high tech, but because I’m all about simplicity in my pictures.  While I do occasionally have stylized photo shoots or make use of a well-placed prop, for everyday sessions I prefer keeping things simple.  I like to keep my studio portraits clean and uncomplicated for a couple of reasons.  First, I believe that it makes the photograph a little more timeless.  If my backdrops are plain, then one isn’t as likely to think, “Oh yeah – that’s when every one wanted barnboard for backdrops.”  The other reason is that there are no distractions to take away from my subjects and their personalities.  Take the boys in these pictures for example:  The pictures are all about them and their expressions.  While they’re handsome enough to look great no matter what, the simple background really helps them shine.

brothers formal portrait

pre-teen boy halifax nova scotia photographer

tween boy posing ideas

little boy blue halifax NS photographer

all boy

happy kids sitting together

brotherly love web

These boys were fantastic to photograph.  They settled right in, gave me lots to work with, and got along beautifully.  In fact, I had so many great pictures of them that I had a hard time picking just the ones I did.  Their faces and expressions pop in these pictures, and the pictures are all about them.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Twitter Updates

  • Follow Julie McDowell Photography on WordPress.com
