Photographing Everyday Life | Halifax Nova Scotia Child Photographer

child putting on socks

There’s an old saying that shoemaker’s wives go barefoot and doctor’s wives die young. Essentially, it means that people are so busy doing their jobs for others, they don’t do their job for their families.  I could take it a step further and say that, at least in this house, photographers’ children don’t get their pictures taken.  I know how I want pictures to look:  pristine, distraction-free, 16″x20″ canvas worthy – the kind I would take if I were setting up a shoot.  But, my house is rarely distraction free or pristine or – well – perfect, and so, I rarely get out my camera and document the every day.  And I miss a lot of every day moments because of it.  I love this picture of my boy.  I think it was the first time I had him put his socks on himself and I actually got out the camera.  I captured the moment.  I’m glad I did and I really need to do it more often.  I know eventually my house will be clean enough to take pictures all the time, but I have a feeling that it will be because they’ve grown up.

This photo was entered into the I Heart Faces photo challenge – www.iheartfaces.com

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Twitter Updates

  • Follow Julie McDowell Photography on WordPress.com
